European Conference on Tobacco or Health

The European Conferences on Tobacco or Health (ECToH) are held every three years and unites over 600 influential advocates, researchers, academics, non-governmental organisations, civil society, scientists, healthcare professionals and public officials working on all aspects of tobacco control from around Europe.

The 8th ECToH was held in 2020 in Berlin and hosted by the German Cancer Society. Key messages from the Conference were published in the Berlin Declaration.

Check out the ECToH 2020 official website: and read the ECToH Round Up.

At the Closing Ceremony, it was announced that the next ECToH will take place in 2023 in Madrid and will be hosted by the Spanish Association Against Cancer! Watch the invitation video from Ignacio Muñoz Pidal (Chairman of the Spanish Association Against Cancer).

Association of European Cancer Leagues ECToH Young Professional Award:

To recognise and support newer careerist professionals that have advanced tobacco control in areas of research, advocacy, policy and practice. The award is granted to participants judged on the quality of the abstracts and their CVs submitted to the conference.

The winners were presented in Berlin by the President of ECTOH (Dr. Martina Pötschke-Langer), the President of the Association of European Cancer Leagues (Dr. Sakari Karjalainen) and the European Commission’s Deputy Director-General for Health and Food Safety (Martin Seychell).

1st Prize: Travel grant up to 2.000 € to attend the next WCToH in Dublin, Ireland 2021 (travel, accommodation, and expenses against receipts) in order to present his/her work and to maintain a network at global level. This travel grant is kindly provided by the Cancer Society of Finland.

Laura Graen – human rights & tobacco specialist won the 1st Prize

2nd Prize: 600 € subsidy for attending the 2020 ECToH, offered by ECL.

David Biton – physician, volunteer at the Israel Cancer Association won the 2nd Prize

3rd Prize: 400 € subsidy for attending the 2020 ECToH, offered by ECL.

Aida Gjika – economist & lecturer won the 3rd Prize